Trapped

by Michael Northrup

trap

Scotty and his friends Pete and Jason are among the last seven kids at their high school waiting to get picked up that day, and they soon realize that no one is coming for them. Still, it doesn’t seem so bad to spend the night at school, especially when distracting hot Krista and Julie are sleeping just down the hall. But then the power goes out, then the heat. The pipes freeze, and the roof shudders. As the days add up, the snow piles higher, and the empty halls grow colder and darker, the mounting pressure forces a devastating decision. 

Trapped was a quick read, a survivalist story set in a high school. It kinda reminded me of a blizzard breakfast club. You have your different types of students all stuck at the school. They were expecting rides home after school lets out early for the storm of the century. This storm is like a blizzard time 100. The kids rides don’t show up and they have to fend for themselves.

The power goes out and at first it isn’t that big of a deal but eventually they are all freezing and soon realize they have to get out of the high school if they are ever expected to survive.

It was OK, well it was pretty good till the end.He wrapped up the ending so fast I kinda felt let down somewhat. Would I suggest this to YA readers? Yes I would but I might warn them the ending is swift and fast. I give it 3 stars because of this issue.. I think that if the ending had taking a chapter to  wrap it up I might have liked it better.

I would say this is a YA book, there were a few scenes and such that I wouldn’t want my Tween/middle school reader to read.

