Use Your Words, Sophie

by Rosemary Wells
published Viking Books for Young Readers




How many times have we said that to our kids or students. I’ve lost count over the years when my kids were younger or in the Preschool classroom. Especially when I was in the 2 year old classroom. This book is cute and will delight all ages especially the youngest of listeners. Sophie has some changes going on in her house. She is a big sister now, and has to share her mom and dad with the little baby. Rosemary Wells does a great job at handling this topic of a touch of sibling jealousy. Many know her from the very popular Max and Ruby book and cartoon series. The Sophie book reminds me a lot of Max and Ruby since the layout is very similar. The main focus of each page is the big colorful simple illustrations. The sentences are short sweet and to the point. Use Your Words Sophie is the perfect book to give the big sister or brother as a gift when you come visit the new baby. I know this will be on my baby shower gift list. 

summary:  When Sophie’s new sister won’t stop crying, only two year old Sophie can communicate with her, even if she isn’t using her words her parents want her to. 


Thank you Penguin, and Viking Books for Young Readers for sending me Use Your Words Sophie. I know this will get lots of use in the elementary classroom! All thoughts and opinions are my own and were no way influenced by the free book!

