The Queen of the Tearling

by Erika Johansen

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

 

When I read that Emma Watson was going to be in the movie adaptation I was so happy and grabbed a copy of book 1 and 2. I mean what bookworm wouldn’t love to read a book series about a kick butt Queen that loves books!  Than I read in an article a publishers 11 year old read it and loved it, so I was thinking cool my upper elementary aged reader would love this since it’s got Emma Watson, a Queen and she is a bookworm. Wrong, so glad I read it before hand, no way am I letting my upper elementary aged reader read this, or probably see the movie. This book is very heavy and has many adult situations  as well as the F word. I enjoyed the book and will read book 2 The Invasion of the Tearling. However I didn’t jump right into it, I took a break to read a light hearted book. I would recommend this book only to high school aged readers, however you use your own judgement since only you know what is right for your child.

summary: On her nineteenth birthday, Princess Kelsea Raleigh Glynn, raised in exile, sets out on a perilous journey back to the castle of her birth to ascend her rightful throne. Plain and serious, a girl who loves books and learning, Kelsea bears little resemblance to her mother, the vain and frivolous Queen Elyssa. But though she may be inexperienced and sheltered, Kelsea is not defenseless: Around her neck hangs the Tearling sapphire, a jewel of immense magical power; and accompanying her is the Queen’s Guard, a cadre of brave knights led by the enigmatic and dedicated Lazarus. Kelsea will need them all to survive a cabal of enemies who will use every weapon–from crimson-caped assassins to the darkest blood magic–to prevent her from wearing the crown.

