A Greyhound A Groundhog

by Emily Jenkins

illustrated by Chris Appelhans

greyhound-groundhog-cover

 

A Greyhound A Groundhog was so cute I really enjoyed this and loved sharing it with a group of first graders. They were learning about writing book reviews so I went and talked to them about what I do here. I closed our discussion by reading an advanced copy of this picture book. I loved the word play and got all tongue-tied and twisted and that made them laugh. This book writing style really reminds me of Dr Seuss, and I am sure this is going to be a go to book to read in years to come. The story line used simple words and repeated making it easy to have the younger listeners and beginning readers to follow along. Beginning readers could use this to gain the confidence they need to become a reader. I think this one would be a lot of fun as a story time book since it flows very well and very entertaining. The illustrations are pretty and soft watercolor like paintings. I love illustrations that are paintings since those seem frame worthy and this book is full of frame-able illustrations. I would love to read more from this duo and more Greyhound and Groundhog adventures. Later in the day I had many of the first graders come up to me and tell me how much they really enjoyed this story. I can’t wait to gift this book to them and read and review many more picture books with them.

greyhound-groundhog-2

 

First Grade Reviewers:

They loved that I got all tongue twisted while reading it – thought that was hilarious.

They loved that the book used some words they are learning and that they could “help” me read it with some help

Some liked that they story was short and wasn’t full of words. You got the story but with fewer words than some picture books.

greyhound-groundhog-1

summary: When a greyhound meets a groundhog, wordplay and crazy antics ensue. The two animals, much like kids, work themselves into a frenzy as they whirl around and around one another. (Around, round hound. Around, groundhog!) The pace picks up (Around and around and astound and astound!), until they ultimately wear themselves out.

Thank you so very much Penguin Random House – Schwartz and Wade Books, Emily Jenkins and Chris Appelhans for allowing me to read this with a great group of first grade future book reviewers. We loved the book and all thoughts and opinions were not influenced by the free book.

 

