The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

by Chelsea Sedoti

the-hundred-lies-of-lizzie-lovett-by-chelsea-sedoti

 

 

 

This book was nothing like I expected and it held me the whole time. Hawthorn or “Thorny” was a very likable character and one of those characters that has every trait you don’t want all in one. I think at some point we are all Hawthorn. She was lost in high school not a part of any group but trying hard to find her way. Lizzie Lovett was the “IT” girl she had it all friends, beauty, popularity, cheerleader, every guy wanting to date her. She leaves town after graduation and that’s it till she vanishes. Hawthorn never liked Lizzie – maybe she was jealous maybe she wasn’t but it really bugs her that she who had it all is just gone in a heartbeat. Hawthorn takes over Lizzie’s life a bit and becomes obsessed. This book tackles mental illness just a touch and I really wish it had dived deeper into Lizzie Lovett’s life and why she wasn’t really happy in the end and was always reinventing herself. I think this could have been a lot more and had something to say. I wish Hawthorn’s family and friends could have seen just how sad and lonely she was and how some of what she did was a cry for help. Many people come and go through Hawthorn’s life and I have to say Sundog the leader of her mom Sparrows old commune family was just what was needed and at just the right time. This book while the title is The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett really isn’t about Lizzie. I feel she is just the backstory to help you understand the main character and storyteller of the book Hawthorn. I’m a fan of supernatural aspects in literature but the one in this book was just so out of left field I think not only did it make Hawthorn look unstable and a bit crazy but it just didn’t fit for me. Yes I would recommend this book to some readers but if you are looking for a mystery there really wasn’t much of one. This is more of a contemporary fiction novel that touches on mental illness and loneliness but I think it should have made it more of the book’s theme. Overall I gave this 3.5 stars.

summary: A teenage misfit named Hawthorn Creely inserts herself in the investigation of missing person Lizzie Lovett, who disappeared mysteriously while camping with her boyfriend. Hawthorn doesn’t mean to interfere, but she has a pretty crazy theory about what happened to Lizzie. In order to prove it, she decides to immerse herself in Lizzie’s life. That includes taking her job… and her boyfriend. It’s a huge risk — but it’s just what Hawthorn needs to find her own place in the world.

thank you Sourcebooks Fire for sending me The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett. All thoughts and opinions are my own and not influenced by the free book.

