Lost Girls

by Merrie Destefano

lost-girls-by-merrie-destefano

 

 

I went into this book not knowing anything about it. It arrived at the perfect time I was looking for something to read so I picked it up. I was instantly sucked in and wanted to see how Rachel’s story unfolded. This book reminded me of Fight Club for high school. While it might not be the best comparison it did involve an illegal no hold barred fight club with high school boys and girls. Rachel is at a disadvantage though out most of the book she experienced a horrible trauma and should have not made it. She did though and while she had severe injuries she also lost her memory. She is a strong girl who didn’t let that stop her she wanted to know why this happened and who did this to her. Rachel was a great narrator and I really liked her character. She has a group of friends I didn’t completely trust throughout the book. She had a boyfriend that seemed a little to good to be true and a little to protective but in the end Dylan was a great guy and one that really had her best interest at heart. Her family was loving and supportive and she came from a good home. Lost Girls did have me thinking how good girls from good homes could become such no hold barred fighters. I know some become fighters because they need to know how to fight to protect themselves. Rachel didn’t fit the mold she was a promising ballet dancer but her story unfolds and you find out her reasoning behind it. While it was what I expected I can say I would have stuck with ballet it’s less bloody (minus the toes on pointe shoes) and less violent. However ballerinas can be pretty competitive for those key roles. I really was surprised with my friend Entangled Teen book I always expected them to be the Harlequin of YA but it was more than romance it had a strong story behind with a bit of romance thrown in. I gave this one 4 stars and would recommend this one to YA readers or readers looking to get into reading YA.

summary: Yesterday, Rachel went to sleep listening to Taylor Swift, curled up in her grammy’s quilt, worrying about geometry. Today, she woke up in a ditch, bloodied, bruised, and missing a year of her life.

She doesn’t recognize the person she’s become: she’s popular. She wears nothing but black.

Black to cover the blood.

And she can fight.

Tell no one.

She’s not the only girl to go missing within the last year…but she’s the only girl to come back. She desperately wants to unravel what happened to her, to try and recover the rest of the Lost Girls.

But the more she discovers, the more her memories return. And as much as her new life scares her, it calls to her. Seductively. The good girl gone bad, sex, drugs, and raves, and something darker…something she still craves—the rush of the fight, the thrill of the win—something she can’t resist, that might still get her killed…

The only rule is: There are no rules.

Thank you Entangled Publishing for sending me Lost Girls. All thoughts and opinions are my own and not influenced by the free book.

