Addie Bell’s ShortCut to Growing Up

by Jessica Brody

 

 

Oh my gosh this book is simply precious! I loved every minute of this cute book! I reminded me of one of my all time favorite movies: 13 Going on 30.  Lucky for  Addie Bell doesn’t skip all those years and head straight to 30 she just skips those wonderful awkward tween years. In doing so she has altered everything she thought high school was going to be like. She soon see’s popularity comes with a price and she wants everything to go back to the way it was before she made that wish. So many times kids want to grow up to fast or think if only I was older things would be so much better. This book represents those feelings so well. I simply can not recommend it enough. This book will be gifted to every tween girl reader I know. I think this is a great summer read for girls entering middle school for the first time or even high school for the first time. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Addie Bell’s ShortCut to Growing Up – this book was my first 5 star read of 2017!!!

summary: Seventh grader Addie Bell can’t wait to be in high school, where everything seems cooler and more fun. What if there was a way to be older . . . right now?

Addie’s parents won’t let her have her own phone, she doesn’t have any curves, and her best friend, Grace, isn’t at all interested in makeup or boys. Then, on the night of her twelfth birthday, Addie makes a wish on a magic jewelry box to be sixteen . . . and wakes up to find that her life has been fast-forwarded four years! Suddenly she has everything she’s always wanted (like a driver’s license and a closet full of cool clothes). But Addie soon discovers that a lot more has changed than she expected—including her friendship with Grace. Can Addie turn back time and take back her wish . . . or has she lost the chance to experience what could have been the best years of her life?

Thank you so very much Jessica Brody and Delacorte for allowing me to read Addie Bell’s Shortcut to Growing Up. All thoughts and opinions are my own and not influenced by the free book.

